5 Responses to The provider did not return a ProviderManifest instance in VS 2013 and EntityFramework 6

  1. Kevin says:

    I’m running into this same problem… have you found any workarounds or solutions?

  2. Kevin says:

    Strangely enough, right after I posted above, it started working.

    I had the same situation as you that I’ve been trying to resolve for the last six straight hours. I tried a couple dozen different solutions on the web and I went so far as to create an entirely new project to see if that was the issue, but no luck. On a whim I just decided to create a model off of the Northwind database, just to see if I could find any discrepancies with my own. I was rather shocked to find that NorthwindEntities worked just fine with the EntityDataSource.

    At this point I was worried thinking that I just peeled one layer off the onion and there was an issue with my database. Before I went any further I decided to re-add my database model and… it worked without a complaint. Seriously. I did the same thing I’ve been doing for six hours (after adding/removing Northwind) and now all is well. I have no idea what the issue was. What a frustrating day…

    • chanmingman says:

      You have to code the Object manually and use ObjectDataSource. I hope I can get the article up next week.

      • Kevin says:

        I’m actually able to consistently get EntityDataSource to work now. For me, the problem seems to be isolated with EntityFramework 6. If I remove every reference to EF6, install EF5 in it’s place, I can directly add the EntityDataSources and use it to populate controls like GridViews or manipulate it in code without any issue. The second I try to use EF6 again… bang, that dreaded error is back.

Leave a Reply

