AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection to the specified secure gateway. Please try connect again

If you are running Cisco AnyConnect and you keep getting this message.


Reconnect is just useless.

One of the possibilities is you have shared your network adapter. You need to disable the share.


Uncheck the Allow other network users to connect through this…

Related issue:

Thanks to Leong Ee Liang helping to get this resolve.

About chanmingman

Since March 2011 Microsoft Live Spaces migrated to Wordpress ( till now, I have is over 1 million viewers. This blog is about more than 50% telling you how to resolve error messages, especial for Microsoft products. The blog also has a lot of guidance teaching you how to get stated certain Microsoft technologies. The blog also uses as a help to keep my memory. The blog is never meant to give people consulting services or silver bullet solutions. It is a contribution to the community. Thanks for your support over the years. Ming Man is Microsoft MVP since year 2006. He is a software development manager for a multinational company. With 25 years of experience in the IT field, he has developed system using Clipper, COBOL, VB5, VB6, VB.NET, Java and C #. He has been using Visual Studio (.NET) since the Beta back in year 2000. He and the team have developed many projects using .NET platform such as SCM, and HR based applications. He is familiar with the N-Tier design of business application and is also an expert with database experience in MS SQL, Oracle and AS 400.
This entry was posted in Community, Computers and Internet, Operating System and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection to the specified secure gateway. Please try connect again

  1. cb says:

    Wow! Thank you so much, this had been bugging me for days.

  2. Aly says:

    Hola. tengo el mismo problema. pero esto es al ingresar ya intente de todo. mi pc tiene win 8, me podrias ayudar????

  3. Mohammed Nasmal says:

    Thank You very much for the information ..It worked for me !!!
    I disabled sharing internet and I am able to connect Anyconnect now.

  4. Oscar Ruiz says:

    Hi , I have the same issue, but I have that message and later this one “the secure Gateway is responding, but anyconnect could not establish a VPN session. Please Retry”

    I already disappeared all the shares of my networks adapter, and it doesn’t Works pls help

  5. Israel says:

    Thank you a lot about the Information. It worked for me…
    I followed the instructions step by step.

  6. vishwann says:

    Thanks.. Great help!!!! It worked for me.

  7. Raj Vardhan says:

    Thanks…worked for me as well🙂

  8. Sarika G says:

    Thanks.. Worked for me🙂

  9. Omar Salim says:

    Still got the same error even after confirming I have no shared adapters

  10. Alonzo Perez says:

    Great, it worked. Thanks so much

  11. Brian says:

    Just in case someone used Virtual Router on the same machine, I found I needed run the following command to get VPN working again.

    netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=disallow

  12. Raul says:

    Upgrading to the latest version of AnyConnect resolve this issue for me on windows 8.1 pro.

  13. marcelo says:

    Thank you so much, you solve my problem.

  14. Paulo says:

    Very good !!!

  15. Liston says:

    Thank you!

  16. Manjunath says:

    Thanks….it helped

  17. Subrata Nath says:

    I was clueless why this problem was happening to me. Thank you for sharing this information. It helped me to resolve the problem.

  18. zaheer says:

    I used below instruction and it works for me
    From the Start menu (Windows 7) or Start screen (Windows 8/8.1), type Services.msc to open the service management screen.
    Scroll down to the “Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)” service and double-click on it to open the properties.
    In the properties window, click on “Stop”, and then change the startup type to “Manual”.
    Click OK, and then attempt the VPN connection again.
    If a VPN connection still cannot be made, please contact your VPN administrator for additional troubleshooting.

  19. Gurukiran D says:

    Thank you it woked

  20. Jo Jo says:

    Thank you very much. Worked for me. Windows 10 Preview / 10122

  21. Gd Df says:

    Thanks Thanks Thanks, it worked for me. for windows 7.

  22. Ambuj says:

    Thank you very much!!. It worked in case of mine.

  23. Nandisha says:

    Yes, this helps to reconnect o my vpn network

  24. Vicky says:

    Thanks !!! stopping ICS services worked!!!

  25. Raghu says:

    Thank you so much !

  26. RaviTeja says:

    Thank you. It worked after restarting.

  27. Ravi Shankar says:

    Thank It is Working

  28. Dinakar says:

    Dont know how to thank you….

  29. Sohail Ahmed says:

    Even if you do not have internet sharing enabled, just enable it, OK and then disable it again. This worked for me.

  30. Edgard says:

    Thank you so much. This was the big problem

  31. An says:

    The solution worked fine !! Thanks a lottt

  32. Ricardo says:

    Thanks from the bottom of my soul…

  33. Muni says:

    Thanks, Its works

  34. Isaias says:

    muchas gracias , me funciono

  35. NK says:

    Thanks this worked for me

  36. Sangita Maharjan says:

    Thanks a lot. It worked🙂

Leave a Reply

